

Wall for Nominations

STATE BAR OF NEW MEXICO 2023 Annual Awards

Nominations are being accepted for the 2023 State Bar of New Mexico Annual Awards to recognize those who have distinguished themselves or who have made exemplary contributions to the State Bar or legal profession in the past year. The awards will be presented at the 2023 Annual Meeting on Thurs., July 27, at the Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa. All awards are limited to one recipient per year, whether living or deceased, with the exception of the Justice Pamela B. Minzner Professionalism Award, which can have two recipients, an attorney and a judge. Nominees may be nominated for more than one award category. Previous recipients for the past three years are listed below.

To view the full list of previous recipients, visit https://www.sbnm.org/CLE-Events/State-Bar-of-New-Mexico-Annual-Awards

— Distinguished Bar Service Award - Nonlawyer —

Recognizes nonlawyers who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession over a significant period of time.

Previous recipients: Juan Abeyta, Bernice Ramos, Renee Valdez

— Excellence in Well-Being Award —

Many individuals have made significant contributions to the improvement of legal professional well-being including destignatizing mental health, strengthening resiliency, and creating a synergic approach to work and life. This new award was created to recognize an individual or organization that has made an outstanding positive contribution to the New Mexico legal community's well-being. As the State Bar of New Mexico is committed to improving the health and wellness of New Mexico's legal community, we strongly encourage self-nominations and peer nominations for any lawyer, judge or nonlawyer working in some capacity with the NM legal community.

Previous recipient (created in 2022): Pamela Moore

— Judge Sarah M. Singleton* Distinguished Service Award —

Recognizes attorneys who have provided valuable service and contributions to the legal profession, the State Bar of New Mexico and the public over a significant period of time.

Previous recipients: Michael P. Fricke, Joey D. Moya, Deborah S. Dungan

*This award was renamed in 2019 in memory of Judge Singleton (1949-2019) for her tireless commitment to access to justice and the provision of civil legal services to low-income New Mexicans. She also had a distinguished legal career for over four decades as an attorney and judge.

— Justice Pamela B. Minzner* Professionalism Award —

Recognizes attorneys and/or judges who, over long and distinguished legal careers, have by their ethical and personal conduct exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism.

Previous recipients: Judge James J. Wechsler and Quentin P. Ray, Frederick M. Hart (posthumously) and F. Michael Hart, William D. Slease

*Known for her fervent and unyielding commitment to professionalism, Justice Minzner (1943–2007) served on the New Mexico Supreme Court from 1994 to 2007.

— Outstanding Legal Organization or Program Award —

Recognizes outstanding or extraordinary law-related organizations or programs that serve the legal profession and the public.

Previous recipients: Pueblo of Pojoaque Path to Wellness Court, Intellectual Property Law Section Pro Bono Fair, New Mexico Center on Law and Poverty, New Mexico Immigrant Law Center

— Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year Award —

Awarded to attorneys who have, during the formative stages of their legal careers by their ethical and personal conduct, exemplified for their fellow attorneys the epitome of professionalism; nominee has demonstrated commitment to clients' causes and to public service, enhancing the image of the legal profession in the eyes of the public; nominee must have practiced no more than five years or must be no more than 36 years of age.

Previous recipients: Lauren E. Riley, Maslyn K. Locke, Veronica C. Gonzales-Zamora

— Robert H. LaFollette* Pro Bono Award —

Presented to an attorney who has made an exemplary contribution of time and effort, without compensation, to provide legal assistance over his or her career to people who could not afford the assistance of an attorney.

Previous recipients: Darlene T. Gomez, Torri A. Jacobus, Julia H. Barnes

*Robert LaFollette (1900–1977), Director of Legal Aid to the Poor, was a champion of the underprivileged who, through countless volunteer hours and personal generosity and sacrifice, was the consummate humanitarian and philanthropist.

— Seth D. Montgomery* Distinguished Judicial Service Award —

Recognizes judges who have distinguished themselves through long and exemplary service on the bench and who have significantly advanced the administration of justice or improved the relations between the bench and the bar; generally given to judges who have or soon will be retiring.

Previous recipients: Judge Henry A. Alaniz, Judge Mary W. Rosner, Judge Alvin Jones (posthumously)

*Justice Montgomery (1937–1998), a brilliant and widely respected attorney and jurist, served on the New Mexico Supreme Court from 1989 to 1994.

Nominations should be submitted through the following link: https://form.jotform.com/sbnm/2023amawards

Additional information or letters may be uploaded with the form and submitted with the nomination.

Deadline for Nominations: Thursday, June 1st

For more information or questions, please contact Kris Becker at kris.becker@sbnm.org or 505-797-6038.